24:2 (2009:05) Committee Annual Report:CEC

June 1, 2009 at 12:01 pm | Posted in Continuing Education | Leave a comment

CONTINUING EDUCATION COMMITTEE

Valerie Bross (vbross@library.ucla.edu), UCLA – co-chair (outgoing) and Jayne Sappington (Jayne.sappington@ttu.edu) Texas Tech – co-chair

Committee members for 2008/2009:  Clint Chamberlain (c.chamberlain@austin.utexas.edu) University of Texas Libraries, Linda S. Dausch (ldausch@chipublib.org ) Chicago Public Library, Beverly Dowdy (beverly.dowdy@duke.edu ) Duke University, Kelli Getz (klgetz@uh.edu) University of Houston, Jill
Grogg (jgrogg@ua.edu) University of Alabama,  Jin Lei (leijin@ryerson.ca) Ryerson University, Steve Oberg (steve@obergs.net) Abbott Laboratories, Peter Picerno  (ppicerno@fiu.edu) Florida International University, Apryl Price (aprylp@tamu.edu ) Texas A & M University, Steve Shadle (shadle@u.washington.edu) University of Washington
Board liaison: Jeff Slagell (jslagell@deltastate.edu)

NARRATIVE OF ACTIVITIES

CONTINUING ACTIVITIES
CEC NISO Event Monitor: In mid-March, the Executive Board requested the CEC to appoint a committee member to be responsible for making regular NISO webinar posts to the What’s New section of the NASIG website. Clint Chamberlain, concurrently serving on the NISO Education Committee, volunteered.

COMPLETED ACTIVITIES (SINCE PREVIOUS REPORT IN JANUARY
1. CEC Manual: Jayne Sappington completed a review of historical files and development of a core set of new documentation for the CEC manual. Apryl Price organized and posted the documents on the CEC segment of the NASIG website.

2. NASIG Regional Unconference at Kansas State University (Mar. 20, 2009): Organizer: Char Simser; CEC liaison: Steve Shadle. This innovative and highly successful program serves as a model for future NASIG events. The agenda for this event is available at: http://nasigunconference2009.wetpaint.com/page/Agenda; photos may be viewed at: http://www.flickr.com/photos/tags/nasigunconf/

3. Getting Them and Keeping Them: Acquisitions and Other Challenges with Electronic Serials and Continuing Resources (Academic Library Association of Ohio, Technical, Electronic, and Digital Services Interest Group, Apr. 24, 2009): Organizer: Kiffany Francis and Rocki Strader; CEC liaison, Jayne Sappington. NASIG funding helped sponsor a timely presentation by Regina Reynolds, “Taming the E-Serials Beast: Challenges and Solutions.”

STATISTICAL INFORMATION
None

ACTION(S) REQUIRED BY BOARD
None

QUESTIONS TO BOARD
None

RECOMMENDATION TO BOARD
None

NAME OF PERSON SUBMITTING REPORT
Valerie Bross

Advertisements

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

%d bloggers like this: