24:1 (2009:03) Title Changes

March 3, 2009 at 5:15 pm | Posted in Title Changes | Leave a comment

TITLE CHANGES
Kurt Blythe, Columns Editor

[Note: Please report promotions, awards, new degrees, new positions, and other significant professional milestones.  You may submit items about yourself or other members to Kurt Blythe at kcblythe@email.unc.edu.  Contributions on behalf of fellow members will be cleared with the person mentioned in the news item before they are printed.  Please include your e-mail address or phone number.]

This quarter’s column features five changes in the lives of four librarians: two of our colleagues have relocated, one has been promoted, that same librarian has married, and a colleague has retired.  Without further ado:

BEVERLY DOWDY “grew up in North Carolina, and [is] happy to be back.”  Previously at the University of Central Oklahoma, where she served as the serials and electronic resources librarian, Beverly has been at Duke University since October 2008.  Beverly is the head of Duke’s Electronic Resources and Serials Management Department, a position that was created only one year prior:  “Electronic resources are exploding here, just as they are everywhere else.  We are caught up in the “workflow challenge” of e-journals.”

Beverly may now be reached at:
Ms. Beverly A. Dowdy
Head, ERSM
Duke University Libraries
Smith Warehouse
114 South Buchanan Blvd.
Durham, NC  27708
Phone: (919) 660-5855
E-mail: beverly.dowdy@duke.edu

DALENE HAWTHORNE is no longer the head of Systems and Technical Services at Emporia State University.  She writes, “I’ve accepted a new position as director of the Arkansas City Public Library in Arkansas City, Kansas.  By the way, when in Kansas, the final “s” in the word “Arkansas” is pronounced.”  Dalene goes on to say, “I’ve been wanting service to be more a part of my life, and decided it was time to move to public libraries.  I started at Ark City January 2, 2009.  So far, the job is both challenging and fun.  I have an elevator to get fixed.  I am also serving on the board of directors of the local literacy council and will be tutoring for them.”

“I regret that this change in my position means I will not be continuing my membership in NASIG.  I will miss you all!”

Dalene’s new contact information is:

Dalene Hawthorne
Director
Arkansas City Public Library
120 E. 5th Ave.
Arkansas City, KS  67005
Phone: dhawthorne@acpl.org

SARAH MORRIS writes, “I have two title changes to report for myself.  The first is that I got married in October, so I have a new last name to add,” and thus, Sarah Morris is now SARAH MORRIS LIN.  Furthermore, “shortly after [marrying] I was promoted within my law firm to the title of “supervisor, U.S. Technical Services,” which would translate into “technical services librarian” outside of the world of law firms.

You can reach Sarah at:

Sarah Morris Lin
Supervisor, US Technical Services
Reed Smith LLP
10 S. Wacker Dr.
Chicago, IL  60606
Phone: (312) 651-1507
Email:  sarah.e.m.lin@gmail.com

Last, but certainly not least, you may remember a reference in the previous quarter’s column to the retirement of long-time serialist, FRIEDA ROSENBERG.  Your faithful columnist is especially chagrined at missing two opportunities to note this title change since Frieda was my supervisor (and remains my friend).  In Frieda’s own words, “I retired as head of Serials Cataloging at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill on August 1, 2008, but will keep my membership in NASIG and am helping on the Conference [Planning] Committee for the Asheville conference in 2009.”

On behalf of NASIG, this column would like to congratulate everyone on their respective title changes, and I’ll see you all in Asheville.

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

